Highland Awakening

Highland Awakening by Jennifer Haymore

Highland Awakening (Highland Knights, #2)Description: For fans of Maya Banks and Monica McCarty, the Highland Knights series continues as a tight-knit band of Scottish mercenaries make trouble on the mean streets of London . . . and under the sheets with England’s proper young women.
 
As the secret author of racy romances, Lady Esme Hawkins goes to great lengths to protect her family’s honor. Which is why she carefully disguises herself before entering a notorious bordello to do research. But when Esme comes face-to-face with a brooding Highland bodyguard, she can’t easily refuse a harmless kiss . . . a kiss that inflames desires ripped from the pages of her novels. Acting on them, however, would risk revealing Esme’s identity—and the fact that she’s engaged to another man.

As a Highland Knight sworn to protect the crown, Camden McLeod never expected to follow his client into a bordello—nor could he anticipate meeting a bright, innocent lass with lush lips and eyes the color of the sea. Instantly, Cam knows he must possess her. But to do so, he’ll need to give up his rakish ways, embrace his role as heir to his despised father, and snuff out a deadly threat to his brothers in arms. By comparison, winning Esme away from her insipid fiancé will be pure pleasure.

Review:

Jennifer Haymore is an author I follow on and off. I liked her House of Trent series but I felt it ended a bit abruptly and then suddenly she had a new series with Highland Knights. I realized with this book that the closure I was missing from the House of Trent series was Esme’s story. Highland Awakening provided that story. I did like the mystery plot surrounding the Highland Knights. I also, for the most part, liked the character of Esme. She, over the course of the other books, has become a writer of scandalous romance novels. This apparently includes interviewing prostitutes at a den of iniquity where, of course, she meets the hero. Camden McLeod is there protecting a member of the nobility who is receiving death threats. He and Esme hit it off and their relationship grows from there. While I did like Esme, I had a hard time warming to Camden. His actions in the pursuit of Esme were very questionable. I didn’t blame her for being mad at him and I didn’t feel like he groveled enough to make up for the magnitude of his actions.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars.

images images images

Received a free copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, Historical Romance, Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s